Cheap Christmas Tips part three

Sort out your  card list.

If you are anything like me you will use the same card list year after year. So many people my list I haven’t even spoken to in years and the only contact I have with them is the yearly card.

Last year I decided to get tough with my Christmas card list. I phoned as many people as I could (free calls up to one hour with my phone package) and obtained as many email addresses as I could.

Those I could not contact and who were not close to me got knocked off the list. The people who I had not had contact with in over a year but I have email addresses for now get sent an email Christmas card (some of the animated ones are really lovely).

I have gone from sending over 100 cards to now only having to post about 20 and hand delivering about 30 more. This might sound mean but to be honest I am sure Doris who I was at uni with many moons ago and haven’t spoken to since will not be too disappointed not to get a Christmas card from me, nor auntie Val who never liked me anyway!

Whilst on the subject, remember to post early so you can use second class stamps rather than first class.

Just as a reminder here are the Christmas posting dates copied from the Royal Mail Website.

Last recommended posting services Service
UK
Wed 14th December Standard Parcels
Sat 17th December Second Class and Recorded Signed For™
Tue 20th December First Class and Recorded Signed For™
Wed 21st December Parcelforce express48
Thu 22nd December Parcelforce express24
Special Delivery™
Thu 22nd December Special Delivery™
Fri 23rd December Special Delivery™ with Saturday Guarantee
International Surface Mail
Fri 30th September Non-European destinations except Middle East, South Africa, Far East, USA and Canada
Tue 4th October Middle and Far East (except Hong Kong and Singapore)
Tue 18th October South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore, the USA and Canada
Tue 8th November Eastern Europe, Greece, Cyprus, Turkey, Malta and Iceland
Tue 22nd November Western Europe
International Airmail
Mon 5th December South & Central America, Caribbean, Africa, Middle East, Asia, Far East (including Japan), Australia and New Zealand
Fri 9th December Eastern Europe, USA and Canada
Mon 12th December Western Europe
British Forces Post Office (BFPO)
Fri 2nd December Airmail to Operational BFPOs
Thu 15th December Airmail to Static BFPOs
Royal Mail Tracked®
Mon 19th December RM Tracked
Tue 20th December RM Tracked High Volume
Wed 21st December RM Tracked Next Day
 
   
   
 
   
   
   
About sunnyworthing

I am a woman on a mad mission to cut my food bills!
This entry was posted in Christmas Tips, Eating On A Pound, General Chat, Hints And Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheap Christmas Tips part three

  1. queenie68duckie says:

    great idea i did much the same last year and now only send to people i am in contact with on a regular basis i felt guilty initially but when i look at what we saved i was chuffed

    thanks for putting the postal info on very useful

  2. It’s a pleasure Queenie, glad to be useful 🙂 Thanks for reading the blog.

Leave a Reply

