Freezing Cheese

If you get a bargain load of cheese like I did today, all you need to do is grate it then freeze it in bags. I like to freeze it in portions so that if I only need a little bit I don’t have to defrost a huge bag of it. All hard cheeses are great to freeze and it lasts up to 3 months in the freezer.

About sunnyworthing

I am a woman on a mad mission to cut my food bills!
This entry was posted in General Chat, Hints And Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Freezing Cheese

  1. Mary Baldwin says:

    Butter freezes well too.

  2. bwprint says:

    Thanks,that is worth knowing,never thought about freezing cheese before.

    My son has recently taken a liking for cheesy pasta,just plain pasta with a generous sprinkling of grated cheese on top and some grilled tomatoes and Welsh rarebit with a poached egg or baked beans on top.I must say,l love those comfort foods myself too,especially in the cold weather.
    I will have to keep my eyes peeled for those cheese bargains and get them into the freezer.

  3. I would not have thought to grate it, I used to freeze it in a small block…need to try that. We use to freeze butter and cheese back in the 80’s when there were butter mountains and the EEC decided to give it away to deprived people…well I was one of those deprived people, was a huge help at the time let me tell you

  4. meggyjo says:

    That’s a great idea, I’d never thought of doing that before. I’m going to do that next time I find a cheesy bargain. Thanks

Leave a Reply

