Tip of the Day: Plant cuttings

Virtually my whole garden has been made by asking people for cuttings of their plants and/or swapping seeds.

If I walk by someone’s garden and I see a lovely plant I would like, I come home, do a little research online (to see when and how a cutting should be taken). Then very nicely knock on their door (always saying how lovely their plant is) and ask if at the right month for taking a cutting if you could pop back and take one. When it is the right month I always knock again just to make sure it is still OK. I have never been turned away and have had got some wonderful plants this way.

I aways put a thank you note through the door afterwards. If someone has been kind enough to let you have a cutting, a thank you note is a must as far as I am concerned.

I have saved so much money doing this over the years and met some very nice people. So don’t go to the garden centre, just give a nice knock, the worst that could happen is they say no, and that has never happened to me yet!

Happy cutting collecting everyone 🙂

About sunnyworthing

I am a woman on a mad mission to cut my food bills!
This entry was posted in Eating On A Pound, General Chat, Hints And Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tip of the Day: Plant cuttings

  1. mibsxx says:

    Fantastic idea, I have been doing much the same but via Freecycle, you often see folks advertising their spare seedlings etc on there, worth checking out every now and then

Leave a Reply

