Tip of the Day Use by dates

I was quite surprised recently by a thread on Loquax about using food past it’s use by / best before date. I actually was amazed that some people just chucked their food out once the use by date had been reached, without even smelling it or tasting it.

Whilst I might think twice about feeding anyone meat or fish well past the use by date, plenty of the food that I buy is on or very close to it’s use by date. Bread for instance is often fine for a week or so after the use by date if stored in a cool place. Eggs will often last two or three weeks after the best before date.

I mainly use the look, stiff and taste test with food past the use by date. First I look to make sure there is no mould or other unwanted nasties on the food. Then I give it a good smell, most foods that have gone off will give off a powerfully horrid odor. Finally I will taste a tiny bit, again most foods that are off will have a strong vile taste. If it passes all my tests then I eat it!

I have only had food poisoning once and that was years ago from rice brought from a takeaway.

Whilst I am not telling anyone to go out of their way to eat food past it’s use by date, I just think with a little common sense, we can all save money and cut down on food waste.

About sunnyworthing

I am a woman on a mad mission to cut my food bills!
This entry was posted in Eating On A Pound, Hints And Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tip of the Day Use by dates

  1. mibsxx says:

    Some of my best bargains have been past their sell-by dates, don’t encourage folks to buy em, there’ll be less for us! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

